Skip to main content

The season of 2017/18

From Bach to Bernstein - and a bit of Pettersson

Welcome to an exciting season ranging from Bach to Bernstein, topped off with a tour to Vienna, promoting the internationally acclaimed Allan Pettersson project.


Every season has its own peak. This year we are happy to welcome back the astounding pianist Ronald Brautigam, with whom the Norrköping Symphony Orhcestra has made many successful recordings. In November he plays Mozart’z piano concert no. 23. Simone Lamsma, the violinist who made an everlasting impression during the season of 2015/2016, will also be back, this time with Shostakovitch’s first violin concerto – a composer that will occur several times during the year.

We’re also pleased to present two soloists from the orchestra’s own ranks: concert master Henrik Jon Petersen in Mozart’s violin concerto no. 4, and first oboist Pelin Lius in R Strauss’ marvelous oboe concerto. Among the new acquaintances we have Gabriel Schwabe, cello, and the Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson.


Among the conductors we are happy to invite again Maestro Michail Jurowski, Christian Kluxen, Joana Carneiro, Anna-Maria Helsing, Otto Tausk and Leif Segerstam – among others.


Like so many other orchestras around the world, we participate in the world-wide celebration of the 100th birthday of Leonard Bernstein, giving a concert version of Candide, as well as the seldom played second symphony.

During the fall we also commemorate Finland’s 100 years of independence, with Finnish master composers such as Sibelius. For a December treat we give Bach’s Christmas Oratorio.

On tour

The season ends with a tour to Musikverein in Vienna, where Christian Lindberg and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra gets to present the Allan Pettersson Project internationally, playing his 7th symphony.

So again, very welcome to all our concerts, every week in the Louis de Geer Concert Hall.

The orchestra

The Musicians

Get to know the players

Plan your visit

The Paper Mill..

… that became home to an orchestra

Go to top