Skip to main content

Posthumous First Performance

Previous Next

207 bars of Pettersson, compiled by Lindberg

7 November 2016

Symphony No. 17 (fragments)

The composer Peter Ruzicka and the conductor Johan Arnell had heard some rumours about more notes among Allan Pettersson’s assets. These fragments were found in a suitcase in his home, along with the first symphony and a concert for viola.

Just over seven minutes, exactly 207 bars, composed the very last weeks of Allan Pettersson’s life.

It is fully developed music up to the last bar, where it all comes to an abrupt ending.

These fragments are played thanks to Christian Lindberg, who have compiled the piece. And now with Norrköping Symphony Orchestra, a posthumous first performance, 36 years after the notes were found.

Go to top